The Gala That Heals

Bexar County Medical Society Foundation Honors Twelve Local Physicians At Sold Out Fundraiser

By Jake Gaines
Photography By Greg Harrison

It was an elegant black tie Valentine theme for this year’s Bexar County Medical Society Foundation that honored outstanding physicians in their field while simultaneously raising funds for the next generation of health care professionals. The sold-out event was held at the Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa and is the primary fundraiser for the Foundation’s medical scholarship program. It featured a silent auction, raffle, and entertainment by Frank Sinatra stylist, Paul Salos and the Let’s Dance Band.

Honorees were welcomed to the event at a VIP reception, complete with a modern lounge area set up by Roche Bobois, bubbling champagne, and delicious hors d’oeurves masterfully prepared by the house chef.  Each physician was recognized with a medical honors sash and medal, and presented a plaque for their achievements. The gala was chaired again this year by the foundation’s board member Monty La Pierre, COO of Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio. The event’s top sponsors included WellMed Medical Management, Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio, PlainsCapital Bank, Baptist Health System, and many more.

Guests were treated to a cocktail hour during the silent auction and were able to participate in this year’s Roses and Diamonds Raffle for a chance to win the $2,500 Circle of Support Diamond Pendant generously donated by Americus Diamond. In an interesting twist, Bregget Rideau (who sings with Paul Salos in the Let’s Dance band) was asked to draw the winner of the necklace and drew her own ticket. Lucky lady! Attendees enjoyed an incredible four-course dinner with a special dessert that served as an interactive centerpiece complete with a selection of mini pastries, cakes, cheesecake, and cookies.

The physicians were nominated by their peers in their specialties and voted on by physicians in, and outside of their specialties. BCMS Foundation Executive Director Lisa Robertson coordinated the event and this year the foundation was proud to honor: Dr. Diana Burns-Banks; Pediatrics, Dr. William Gordon; Otolaryngology, Dr. David Green; Hand Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery, Dr. Frank Ledford; Infectious Disease, Dr. Gerardo Ortega; Vascular Surgery, Dr. Robert Rice; Ophthalmology, Dr. Robert Schnitzler; Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine, Dr. Ian Thompson; Urology, Oncology, Dr. Gregory Thompson; Dermatology, Dr. Elliot Wesser; Gastroenterology, and Dr. Allan White; Gynecology, Gynecological Oncology.


[nggallery id=164]