Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards Kicks off South By Southwest

By Rob Giardinelli
Photography by Gary Miller

Each year South By Southwest kicks off its ten days entertainment-palooza with the 13th annual Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards, benefitting the Austin Film Society. Harkening back to its venue roots, this year’s star-studded event was held at the Austin Studios.

This year’s list of honorees included Michael McKean of This is Spinal Tap and Best In Show, who was presented his award by actress Annette O’Toole. Robin Wright, star of classic movies such as The Princess Bride and Forrest Gump was presented an award by film director Rob Reiner, whose credits include When Harry Met Sally and Stand By Me. Additionally, several cast members of the 1990’s cult-classic Dazed and Confused accepted an award honoring the movie’s footprint in the history of cinema.

This years awards show, co-chaired by film director Richard Linklater and Marc, Eli and Alex Winkelman, began with a vibrant cocktail party where guests posed on the red carpet and enjoyed signature drinks made especially for the event. Guests then gathered for dinner and a delightfully entertaining program honoring the many contributions Texas has made to film.

Upon conclusion of the program, guests enjoyed an after-party that kicked off yet another spectacular South By Southwest, where Austinites mingled with Hollywood players that night. The evening e-affirmed why Austin is such an amazing place to be – it is the one city in the world outside of Hollywood and New York that can draw people the worlds top film and musical talent for a one-of-a-kind evening.


[nggallery id=163]